Workforce Solutions

Coos, Curry & Douglas Counties

Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Training
Recruitment
Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Youth Internships
Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Job Postings
Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Assessment
Wage Subsidy
Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Apprenticeship
Star Logo JPEG.jpg
Business Services

WorkSource – Job Training/Development

Serving Coos, Curry, and Douglas Counties
Providing Virtual & In-Person Appointments: 
800-822-3525 | workforce@scbec.org

 

WorkSource Coos - 990 S. 2nd Street Coos Bay, OR 97420

​541-756-8459  |  610.OED_610@oregon.gov

 

WorkSource Curry - 16261 Highway 101 S., Suite 11 Brookings, OR 97415

541-469-9836  |  614.OED_614@oregon.gov


WorkSource Douglas - 846 SE Pine Street Roseburg, OR 97470

541-440-3344  |  320.OED_320@oregon.gov

 

BUSINESS SERVICES

Coos, Curry & Douglas Counties

Employer Incentive Programs

  • NCRC for businesses

  • Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC)

  • Avoid layoffs:

    • Work Share

    • Layoff Aversion

  • Federal Bonding Program

  • Foreign Labor Certification

Employer Resources & Services

  • Business Resources

  • Industry trends

  • Workshops and seminars

  • Local industry profiles

  • Contact local economists 

Workforce and Economic Research

  • Unemployment rates

  • Job growth or loss estimates

  • Wage and occupational data

  • Long-term employment trends

  • Customized business survey results

  • Educational requirements for OR jobs

  • Income trends

  • Job vacancy reports 

  

BUSINESS SERVICES REPRESENTATIVES

To inquire about becoming an industry tour site, or offering an internship for credit, please reach out to the business services representative in your area.

Coos/Curry Business Services

Maureen "Mo" Aakre

541-373-3870

maakre@scbec.org

 

SOWIB Business Services Coordinator

Natasha Garrison

(808) 264-2254

ngarrison@sowib.org

Coos/Curry Business Services

Christopher Frazier

(541) 252-2077

christopher.m.frazier@employ.oregon.gov

Douglas Business Services

Shardell Johnson

(541) 464-2343

Shardell.M.JOHNSON@employ.oregon.gov

RECRUIT HIPPO 

 For High School Students 

             Helping Individuals Pursue Professional Opportunities

Our "Recruit Hippo" program uses a variety of tools to help students understand and prepare for successful employment.

  • Internship for credit: work-based learning opportunities for school credit.

  • Industry tours: career exploration on site with local employers.

  • Talent advising: in-school guidance on career opportunities suited to a student's interest and skills. Talent Advisors connect students with local employers and training.

  • Soft skills: practicing and improving work ethics, understanding employer expectations, and building critical problem solving skills.    

For information and assistance in preparing for employment while still in high school, visit www.recruithippo.com, or contact the Youth Talent Advisor for your county. 

Hippo pic.jpg

Youth Employment Advisor

Aaron Towne

atowne@recruithippo.com

541-900-4715

Youth Employment Advisor

Chelsea Gregory

chelsea@recruithippo.com

541-860-8591

 

Youth Employment Advisor

Chloe Eberlein

chloe@recruithippo.com

541-373-3853

Youth Employment Advisor

Brandy Speir

brandy@recruithippo.com

541-900-4712